Animation Dingle Festival raises €38,000 for UNICEF Ireland

Mar 26, 2024 13:22 By radiokerrynews
Animation Dingle Festival raises €38,000 for UNICEF Ireland
Share this article

Animation Dingle Festival, with JAM Media, took place in Dingle last week.

The festival consisted of the RTÉjr Animation Dingle Awards and the Animation Dingle Art Auction.

The fundraising art auction, which took place on Saturday, raised €38,000 for UNICEF Ireland.


The awards were held in The Dingle Skellig Hotel the night before where the winners of 14 categories were announced.

Winners of the RTÉjr Animation Dingle Awards categories are listed below:

  1. Young Animator of the Year (YAOTY) sponsored by Disney, the award went to Max Hendrikson from Mount Temple Comprehensive School.
  2. Best Irish Student sponsored by RTÉjr:

Awarded to Every Other Weekend by James Naughton, IADT

  1. Best International Student sponsored by CBBC:

Awarded to Stabat Mater by Hadrien Maton, Quentin Wittevrongel, Arnaud Mege, Coline Thelliez,  William Defrance of Pôle 3D

  1. Best Animation Award sponsored by MILKSHAKE!

Awarded to Golden Ties by Michelle Bardon, IADT

  1. Best Stop Motion Award sponsored by Aardman Animations

Awarded to The Curse of Dracular by Jack Paterson, Norwich University of the Arts.

  1. The Best Writer, jointly Sponsored by Animation Ireland and National Talent Academy for Animation

Awarded to Pinokidoki, directed by Jack Casserly from Technological University of the Shannon, Athlone

  1. Best Design/ Art Direction awards sponsored by JAM Media

Awarded to Unseen - Alone in Space by Patrick Faulkner of University of Ulster

  1. Best Music/ Sound Design sponsored by EGG Postproduction Studios

Awarded to Bluelight by Jean-Ellis Gbessia, IADT

  1. The Best Director Award sponsored by Toon Boom

Awarded to The Sun is Bad by Rachel Mow from Savannah College of Art and Design

  1. Best Irish Professional Short sponsored by the Kerry College

Awarded to Worry World by Jessica Patterson

  1. Best International Professional Short sponsored by Nickelodeon

Return to Hairy Hill by Daniel Gies, Canada

  1. The Big Pitcher Winner, Michael Berrill Doran with their project Ultra Cat, Mega Dog won a 3-month paid internship with Jam Media and will get to pitch at Cartoon Springboard later this year
  2. Best Sting sponsored by Monster Entertainment! went to - CH_001 An Phiast V014 by Theodore Goodwin, TUS Athlone
  3. Winner of the Best Game Sting, sponsored by 2K was An Phiast Hover Racing by Rian Lambe, BCFE

The festival which is in its 12th year, saw 137 animated short films from 17 countries exhibited on the Dingle Peninsula.


Share this article

RadioKerry Newsletter

Sign up now to keep up to date with the latest news.

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now! please check your email to confirm your subscription.