2 Kerry TDs vote against Climate Action Bill

Jun 17, 2021 17:06 By radiokerrynews
2 Kerry TDs vote against Climate Action Bill 2 Kerry TDs vote against Climate Action Bill
Share this article

Two Kerry TDs voted against the Climate Action Bill in the Dáil last night.

The new legislation, which was passed by 129 votes to 10, aims to reach carbon neutrality by 2050.

Independent TDs Michael and Danny Healy Rae voted against the bill while Fine Gael TD Brendan Griffin and Fianna Fáil TD and Education Minister Norma Foley voted in favour of the legislation.


Sinn Féin TD Pa Daly was not present for the vote under a pairing agreement with the opposition. However, his party voted in favour of the bill which will go to the Seanad next week.

Deputy Michael Healy Rae believes the Climate Action Bill will disadvantage rural Ireland, farmers and those suffering from fuel poverty.

However, the Environment Minister Eamon Ryan said no one will be talked down to or ignored in relation to climate transition and he said he was particularly attentive to the farming community in that regard.



Share this article

RadioKerry Newsletter

Sign up now to keep up to date with the latest news.

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now! please check your email to confirm your subscription.