13 vacant rural cottages in Listowel MD area

May 13, 2021 08:05 By radiokerrynews
13 vacant rural cottages in Listowel MD area 13 vacant rural cottages in Listowel MD area
Share this article

There are 13 vacant rural cottages owned by Kerry County Council in the Listowel Municipal District.

However, eight of the properties are subject to ongoing legal issues including boundary issues.

In response to a motion by Fine Gael Cllr Mike Kennelly, the council said there are currently 13 vacant single rural cottages in the Listowel MD area.


These are located in Listowel, Ardfert, Abbeydorney, Lixnaw, Ballyduff, Ballybunion and Ballyheigue.

Refurbishment works are underway in three properties, one cottage has been allocated but the tenancy has yet to begin and another cottage is to be sold following approval by councillors.

The council says the remaining eight properties have been vacant for a significant number of years and seven have been identified to be sold due to various issues including cost of refurbishment, ownership, boundaries, rights of way and threatened legal action.




Share this article

RadioKerry Newsletter

Sign up now to keep up to date with the latest news.

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now! please check your email to confirm your subscription.