Young people to be celebrated at Lee Strand/Kerry Garda Youth Achievement Awards tonight

L/R : Garda Aidan O'Mahony and Garda Leann Haussmann from Tralee Garda Station with Saoirse Casey , Dale O'Carroll ( Dale was the 2017 overall winner ) and Miriam Hanlon who were some of last years Kerry Garda Youth Achievement Award winners .

Young people in Kerry will be celebrated at the Lee Strand/Kerry Garda Youth Achievement Awards in Tralee tonight.

The event acknowledges the volunteering endeavours and achievements of young people from Kerry, aged between 13 and 21.

Over 250 people from across the county will attend the awards ceremony in the Ballyroe Heights Hotel in Tralee tonight.

Awards include a group award, special achievement, community safety, merit awards and the overall winner.