Stander To Captain Munster As O’Leary & Hurley Return To Squad

Head Coach Anthony Foley has named his side to face Cardiff Blues at Irish Independent Park tomorrow. CJ Stander will captain a side that sees 6 personnel changes to the starting XV that defeated Glasgow with Tomás O’Leary and Denis Hurley included in a matchday squad for the first time this season. It’s an all new front row of Dave Kilcoyne, Mike Sherry and BJ Botha with Mark Chisholm and Dave Foley continuing in the second row. CJ Stander will captain the side from the back of the scrum at number 8 with Dave O’Callaghan and openside Jack O’Donoghue completing the back row. Duncan Williams and Ian Keatley again pair up in the half-backs while academy player Rory Scannell and Francis Saili return to the starting line-up in midfield. Two changes in the back-three see Shane Monahan make his second competitive start on the wing with Andrew Conway switching to the full-back position, while Gerhard van den Heever remains on the opposite flank. Having successfully completed their rehabilitation both Tomás O’Leary and Denis Hurley are in line to make their first appearances of the season after being named on the bench, and should John Ryan feature, the prop will win his 50th cap for the province. On the injury front it has been confirmed that Stephen Archer requires surgery after sustaining a neck injury during the round 3 Glasgow encounter and the tight-head prop is expected to be side-lined for a number of months. Munster: Andrew Conway; Shane Monahan, Francis Saili, Rory Scannell, Gerhard van den Heever; Ian Keatley, Duncan Williams; Dave Kilcoyne, Mike Sherry, BJ Botha; Mark Chisholm, Dave Foley; Dave O’Callaghan, Jack O’Donoghue, CJ Stander – capt. Replacements: Niall Scannell, James Cronin, John Ryan, Robin Copeland, Jordan Coghlan, Tomás O’Leary, Denis Hurley, Dave Johnston.