Oireachtas committee to question Communications Minister on post office closures

The Oireachtas Communications, Climate Action and Environment Committee will today question Communications Minister Denis Naughten about a deal that will lead to the closure of 159 rural post offices, including 12 in Kerry.

The restructuring plan was agreed between An Post and the Irish Postmasters’ Union in order to create a strengthened, viable post office network for the future.

Representatives from An Post, the Post Office Networks, the An Post Mailing Centres, and the Public Banking Forum of Ireland will also attend today’s meeting.

Fine Gael TD Hildegarde Naughton is Chair of the Committee.