No New Injury Concerns For Irish Rugby Team

TITLEGOESHERE | Radio Kerry | 96-98FM | Your Voice in The Kingdom

Ireland’s injury problems appear to be clearing ahead of Sunday’s Pool D decider against France at the Rugby World Cup. Jared Payne has been cleared to resume training after recovering from his bruised foot. David McIntyre reports [audio_player src=””] Munster ‘A’ Head Coach Mick O’Driscoll has named an extended squad for tomorrow evening’s Interprovincial clash with Leinster ‘A’ at Donnybrook and names Niall Scannell as captain. Not for the first time the hooker leads Munster ‘A’ with his younger brother Rory also named in the starting line-up. Joining Scannell in the front row are John Ryan and academy loosehead Liam O’Connor, with Cork Constitution’s Brian Hayes and the sub-academy’s Frank Bradshaw Ryan (Shannon) partnering up in the second row. Academy recruit Ben Kilkenny and senior duo Jordan Coghlan and Shane Buckley complete the pack at 6, 7 and 8 respectively. Ryan Foley and Rory Scannell form an all-academy half-back partnership while Matt D’Arcy makes his first Munster ‘A’ appearance in joining the academy’s Ned Hodson in the midfield. Stephen Fitzgerald and Steven McMahon complete the strong representation for the Greencore Munster Academy in the starting XV and join Darren Sweetnam in the back three. In naming an extended matchday squad, O’Driscoll also includes a number of Munster’s Interprovincial winning U20 representatives – Sean O’Leary, John Poland (both Cork Constitution) and Kelvin Browne (Young Munster), with Constitution prop Brendan Quinlan also included in the matchday 25. Leinster ‘A’ v Munster ‘A’, Interprovincial Series, Wednesday October 7th at Donnybrook – KO 5pm. Munster ‘A’: Steven McMahon; Stephen Fitzgerald, Ned Hodson, Matt D’Arcy, Darren Sweetnam; Rory Scannell, Ryan Foley; Liam O’Connor, Niall Scannell – capt., John Ryan; Brian Hayes, Frank Bradshaw Ryan; Ben Kilkenny, Jordan Coghlan, Shane Buckley. Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Brendan Quinlan, JP Phelan, Rory Burke, Sean O’Leary, Kelvin Browne, Conor Oliver, John Poland, Tomas Quinlan, Alex Wootton.