Morning Sports Update


The Gaelic Grounds in Limerick city will host the homecoming for the All-Ireland Senior Hurling Champions today

Limerick are preparing to bring the Liam MacCarthy Cup home for the first time in 45 years.

The Treaty County beat Galway by 3-16 to 2-18 to win their first All Ireland final since 1973.

Goals from Tom Morrissey, Graeme Mulcahy and Shane Dowling handed them an eight points lead midway through the second half at Croke Park.

Galway cut the deficit to a single point in injury time, but Limerick held on to clinch victory.

Limerick boss John Keily is glad the supporters have something to be proud of

It is a disappointing end to Galway’s reign as All Ireland champions.

The Tribesmen were hoping to win back to back titles for the first time since 1988.

Manager Micheal Donoghue says his team gave their all


Paul Pogba has criticised Manchester United’s attitude following yesterday’s Premier League defeat to Brighton.

Republic of Ireland international Shane Duffy scored for the Seagulls during their 3-2 win at the Amex Stadium.

It is Brighton’s third successive home league victory over Red Devils.

It adds to the pressure on United manager Jose Mourinho.

He feels his players are lacking confidence

Liverpool are back in action tonight.

The Reds can make it two wins out of two by beating Crystal Palace at Selhurst Park.

Cork City’s S-S-E Airtricity League Premier Division title hopes have suffered a massive set back.

The Leesiders were held to a 1 all draw by St Patrick’s Athletic at Turners Cross yesterday.

The result moves Cork level on points with Dundalk at the top of the table, but they have played two more games.

Dundalk are away to Sligo Rovers this evening.


Ballybunion take on Dungarvan today in the semi-finals of the Fred Daly Trophy.

The match is on in Nenagh at 9.40.

AIG Barton Shield Munster Final

Kinsale beat Castletroy 2 holes
Gary Ward & Keith Fitzpatrick beat Jason Tobin & Stephen Moloney 3 up
Cathal Butler & Eric Rumley lost to Andrew McCormack & Eamonn Haugh 1 down

Castletroy beat Doneraile 7 holes
Jason Tobin & Jack Ryan halved with David Finn & Killian Cotter, Andrew McCormack & Eamonn Haugh beat Tim O’Mahony & Hugh Nolan 7 holes

Kinsale beat Dungarvan 3 holes.
Gary Ward & Keith Fitzpatrick lost to Alan Thomas & Danny Raher 1down, Cathal Butler & Eric Rumley beat Gavin Smith & Kevin Stack 4up.


Ellen Keane has won Ireland’s first gold medal at the European Para swimming Championships at the National Aquatics Centre in Dublin.

The 23 year old powered to victory in the 100 metres breaststroke, wining the final by more that five seconds.


There is racing at Roscommon this evening

The first of an eight race card goes to post at 4.45.