Kerry TD Brendan Griffin supporting Leo Varadkar in leadership race

Kerry TD Brendan Griffin is supporting Leo Varadkar in the Fine Gael leadership race.

A list of names was released this afternoon of 10 TDs publicly backing Minister Varadkar for the role, and this included the Kerry deputy, along with Junior Ministers Helen McEntee and Eoghan Murphy.

Deputy Griffin believes he’ll be a good Taoiseach for Kerry.

Junior Minister Seán Kyne says more support from within the cabinet is on the way.

The full list of Fine Gael TDs publicly backing Minister Varadkar:
Colm Brophy TD, Dublin South West
Peter Burke TD, Longford Westmeath
Ciaran Cannon TD, Galway East
Michael D’Arcy TD, Wexford
Pat Deering TD, Carlow Kilkenny
Brendan Griffin TD, Kerry
Minister of State for Gaeltacht Affairs & Natural Resources, Sean Kyne TD, Galway West
Josepha Madigan TD, Dublin/Rathdown
Minister for Mental Health and Older People, Helen McEntee TD, Meath East
Minister of State for the Diaspora & International Development, Joe McHugh.
Minister of State at the Department of Finance, Eoghan Murphy TD, Dublin Bay South
John Paul Phelan TD, Carlow Kilkenny