Kerry Player Named Minor Football Player of the Year

29 September 2018; The Electric Ireland Minor Footballer of the Year 2018 is Kerry’s Paul Walsh, as voted for by an expert panel of GAA legends including Sean Cavanagh and Daniel Goulding. Electric Ireland, sponsors of the GAA Minor Championships, today recognised the talent and dedication of 15 Minor football players, and 15 Minor hurling players at the Electric Ireland Minor Star Awards at Croke Park. #GAAThisIsMajor Photo by Sam Barnes/Sportsfile *** NO REPRODUCTION FEE ***

Kerry’s All-Ireland Minor winning forward, Paul Walsh was named as Electric Ireland Minor Footballer of the Year at the second annual Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Awards in Croke Park.

Walsh was a key figure as Kerry secured their fifth Minor All-Ireland title. The Brosna clubman was the scorer of 1-7 in the Munster Minor Football final win over Clare and notched three points in the All-Ireland semi-final against Monaghan and another four as Galway were seen off in the All-Ireland decider.

Walsh was announced as Footballer of the year as part of this year’s Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Awards. The event celebrated the Minor Football and Hurling Teams of the Year, who were joined by their families and representatives from their County boards and management teams in Croke Park.

Donal O’Shea was named as Electric Ireland Minor Hurler of the Year and had an equally impressive season for Galway’s Minor Hurlers. A tally of 1-37 across four wins en-route to the All-Ireland title is proof of the Salthill-Knocknacarra man’s impact.

Galway legend Mattie Murphy was also honoured with the Electric Ireland Special Merit Award, presented to him by Minor Star Awards judge and former Galway hurler Ollie Canning, for his significant contribution to Minor Hurling having led Galway to six All-Ireland Minor titles during his reign as Manager with the county.

Speaking following the announcement of the Electric Ireland Football Player of the Year award, Paul Walsh commented; “This is a very proud moment for me as a player and all the coaches that have coached me down through the years, but especially for my club, Brosna GAA, who have been supporting me from when I was 5 or 6 and started playing. So this award is for them as well!”

Sean Cavanagh, Electric Ireland Minor Star Awards Judge said;
“Today’s awards are a reflection of a great Electric Ireland Minor Championship season. The recognition given to all the players on the Teams of the Year for both Football and Hurling, along with Paul (Walsh) and Donal (O’Shea) as Players of the Year, are a testament to the quality of talented players coming through the Minor Championship teams. It was great for me personally to award Paul (Walsh) for his hard work throughout the Championship.

John Horan, President, GAA, said; “It’s great to see such talent recognised here today and for these players to be joined in celebration by all those who have supported in getting them to where they are in their playing careers now. For the GAA it’s rewarding because without that support, these players would not be able to reach their full potential. For every player named, it is a huge honour for them and we want to congratulate them and of course Paul Walsh and Donal O’Shea for their individual awards. I am sure they will be the first to acknowledge the role their team mates, managers, families and communities have played in their success with hopefully much more to come.”

Pat O’Doherty, Chief Executive ESB, said; “We are delighted to be back here today for the second annual Electric Ireland Minor Star Awards. We have seen first-hand the importance of acknowledging these players and recognising the commitment that each and every one of them put into the sport they love. This has been another great year for the Championship and as title sponsor, we have seen some riveting games that these players have played a huge part in. It is a huge privilege for us to be able to honour these players today. They are a credit to their parents, families, clubs and communities and no doubt are an inspiration to them all.”

The Awards emphasise that there is ‘nothing minor about playing Minor’ and honour the best individual performers from the entire season. They also recognise the crucial and admirable part played by the families, club members and communities of players who have helped them to get to this point in their sporting career.

The four-man awards selection panel who chose the awardees, was unveiled in May, consisting of former All-Star winning Tyrone football captain, Sean Cavanagh, All-Star winning former Cork footballer, Daniel Goulding, eight-time All-Ireland winning former Kilkenny hurler Michael Fennelly and four-time All-Star former Galway defender, Ollie Canning.