Kerry Golf News & Results


Men’s Results

January 21st.
15 Hole Singles

1st. Charlie Vaughan (19) – 33pts.
2nd. Gerald O’Dwyer (12) – 33 pts. (OCB)

8 Hole Singles.

1st. Denis Crowley (19) – 15pts.

Next Week – 15 Hole and 8 Hole Singles.


Fixtures for next weekend.
Men’s Club. Sunday Jan. 28th, Shotgun start 8.30am
Ladies Friday Jan. 26th, Draw at 10.00am
Lady Seniors. Wed Jan. 24th, Draw at 10.00am
Ongoing 9 Hole weekly mixed re-entry, Monday – Sunday.


Monday 15th – Sunday 21st January 2018

Mens Competitions:
Mens’ Fourball Stableford Competition Sunday 21st January 2018 – Cashen Course
1st John Maher (9) & Joe Stack (16) 41pts
2nd Alan Grimes (9) & Paul Murphy (7) 40pts
Sunday 28th January 2018 Mixed Waltz Competition – Cashen Course
Ladies Competitions:
Sunday 28th January 2018 Mixed Waltz Competition – Cashen Course
Tuesday 30th January 2018 Ladies Voucher Competition– Cashen Course

Senior Men’s Competitions:

Thursday 25th January 2018 Senior Men’s Competition – Cashen Course

Senior Ladies Competitions:

Friday 26th January 2018 Senior Ladies 9 Hole Competition – Cashen Course


Men’s results, Sunday 21st January (12 holes singles)

1st: Sean O Loughlin (12) 24 points.
2nd: Des Fitzgerald (16) 23 points
3rd: Thomas Eoin Dowling (12) 22 points.



Sat 27th Jan: Casual Golf

Sun 28th Jan: Captains Drive In. 9 Hole Team Competitions. Front & Back 9.
BRS Opens

Mon 15th Jan 8.00pm
Sat 03rd Feb: Casual Golf
Feb 04th Feb: 14 Hole Singles. 5th Tee start Sat 10th Feb: Casual Golf Sun 11th Feb: 14 Hole Singles. 5th Tee start Sat 17th Feb: Casual Golf Sun 18th Feb: 14 Hole Singles. 5th Tee start

Feb 24th Feb: Castle Bar Spring League Qualifying Round (Min 2 per team to a max of 3 per team) Feb 25th Feb: Castle Bar Spring League Qualifying Round.

Ladies results
No ladies played in round 3 of the New Year’s Hamper. Therefore the winner of the New Year Hamper 2018 is Mary Scully. Well done Mary.

Reminder that our Captains Drive In is next Sunday so please come out to support them. Reception at 11am. Shot Gun start at 12 noon. Our 2018 diaries will also be available on the day.
Spring League is open on the BRS date 1st February. This is a very good way to start back to the new season of golf.


Team of 3 Scramble
20th & 21st January 2018

Winners: Paul Griffin (6) / Michael Johnston (10) / Karl Griffin (12) = 56.2 Net C/B

2nd – Jimmy O’Shea (14) / Patrick Riordan (11) / Sean Roche (13) = 56.2 Net

NEXT WEEKEND 27th & 28th Jan. 2018
Round 2 Spring League – Matchplay
Please post result on card box


The recent inclement weather with Storms Fionn and Georgina mixed in with our usual bad weather at this time of year has resulted in our Killeen Course remaining closed since Christmas-time. This has resulted in our Mahony’s Point Course receiving heavier than normal playing and despite this, the very good condition of the Course has been very favourably commented on by those who were brave enough to battle the elements over that period. This was never more true than on last Sunday, when despite atrocious weather conditions almost 100 brave souls tackled Mahony’s Point in one of our Club sponsored stableford competitions. As the morning wore on the conditions worsened which caused many of those playing to retire to the sanctuary of the Clubhouse and to enjoy some light refreshments. It must be said that Enda Murphy and his Course up-keeping staff have worked very hard on our behalf in keeping the Course in such great condition, and they are deserving of our fulsome praise and appreciation. Those who played on, and finished their round produced some remarkable scores despite those dreadful playing weather conditions, and the first three players all registered the same score of an incredible 36 Points.

The winner by virtue of a better back few holes was Neil Coffey, and with a handicap of just 6 he produced the winning score, and in 2nd place was Ex-Officio Captain Declan McCarthy, who had his best competition result for quite some time, and in 3rd place was Louis Holland a regular prize-winner over the years.

Full results were 1st Neil Coffey(6) 36 Pts. 2nd Declan McCarthy(10) 36 Pts. 3rd Louis Holland(14) 36 Pts. 4th Michael Maher(6)35 Pts. 5th Jason Dinham(14) 35 Pts. Cat.1 Baden Maher(5) 33 Pts. Cat.2 David Moloney(8) 32 Pts. Cat.3 Brendan Brosnan(13) 34 Pts. Cat 4 John Coffey(20) 32 Pts. Standard Scratch 35 Pts. reduction only.