Gneeveguilla 5K Report

TITLEGOESHERE | Radio Kerry | 96-98FM | Your Voice in The Kingdom

Tom O’Donoghue reports on the Gneeveguilla 5K [audio_player src=””] Five Irish athletes have run inside the Olympic qualifying time at the Berlin Marathon, with Lizzie Lee of Leevale clocking a lifetime best of 2 hours 32 minutes 51 seconds in the women’s race. Kevin Seaward of St Malachy’s was fastest Irishman in 2 hours 14 minutes 52 seconds, followed in quick succession by Sergiu Ciobanu of Clonliffe Harriers, Mick Clohissey of Raheny Shamrocks and Paul Pollock of Annadale Striders. Irish national marathon champion Ciobanu ran for his native Moldova at the 2013 World Championships in Moscow, and took up Irish citizenship earlier this year. Kenya’s Eliud Kipchoge won the men’s race in a world leading two-hours-four-minutes dead, while compatriot Gladys Cherono won the women’s race in only her second attempt at the distance. Over 300 participants entered and took part in the killarney10mile Results men: 1st Donal o ‘Callaghan riocht 55.32 2nd Tony Harty riocht 56.10 3rd Sean o’Sullivan riocht 56.23 4th Danny Smith Ballynonty 57.25 5th Simon Mangan 59.11 Female: 1st Ann Marie Holland youghal ac 1.02 2nd Catriona Barry farranfore Maine valley AC 1.07 3rd Siobhan Daly Gneeveguilla ac 1.08 Wheelchair: 1st Jerry Forde 2nd Ger Daly