Four Kerry towns to get free public wifi

Four Kerry towns are to get free public wifi.

Tralee, Killarney, Listowel, and Killorglin are to benefit after Kerry County Council was awarded funding under the Wifi4EU scheme.

The council was allocated €15,000 for each town, and the Department of Rural and Community Development has committed to match funding, giving the council a total fund of €120,000.

There’s an 18-month time limit on delivering the free public wifi for the locations.

Meanwhile the council says Eir’s rollout of broadband in Kerry will be completed by the middle of this year, and which point 68% of properties in the county will have access to high speed broadband.