Four Kerry sites named in EU polluters list.

Four sites in the county are named in a EU polluters list compiled by the European Environment Agency. The ESB power station in Tarbert, Kerry Ingredients in Listowel, the North Kerry Landfill and Sarah Lee in Killarney are among 150 Irish industrial and agricultural facilities listed.The EEA compiles a register based on pollution of air and water, covering 50 pollutants from ammonia, arsenic, methane, nitrogen dioxide and phosphorus.The North Kerry landfill is one of a number of dumps on the list as a result of methane emissions. Under EU law the register will have to be updated every three years. Environment commissioner Margaret wallstrom says publishing the names of the companies in breach of the regulations is crucial as it means people can put pressure on politicians.