Four former Kerry councillors to receive retirement gratuities totalling over €157,000

Four Kerry councillors who bowed out at May’s local elections will receive retirement gratuities totalling €157,580.

Councillors who lost their seats in May or chose not to contest the elections, are entitled to a lump sum based on their experience on the local authority.

Payments totalling over €157,500 were made to four former members of Kerry County Council this week.

Former Fine Gael Cllr Liam Purtill will receive €53,012.24, while his party colleague Pat McCarthy is to get €52,808.51.

John Sheahan, who is also a former Fine Gael Cllr, will receive a retirement gratuity of €40,785 and former Fianna Fáil councillor John Lucid is to receive €10,974.36.

Nationally Wicklow County Council’s bill is the highest, with 12 former representatives due more than €505,000.