Fifth Municipal District for Kerry following new boundary changes

Kerry is to have a fifth Municipal District following the confirmation of the new boundary changes.

Two new Municipal Districts will be formed following next May’s local elections – they are An Daingean and Castleisland MD along with a Kenmare MD.

The An Daingean and Castleisland MD will replace the South and West MD.

The MDs are set out for administrative purposes, and people both the Castleisland electoral area and the Dingle electoral area will still only vote for candidates who are running in their electoral area.

These newly formed MDs will join the existing ones in Tralee, Killarney and Listowel.

As a result of the boundary changes, Kerry will now have five electoral areas for May’s local elections.

An Daingean will have three elected members, Castleisland will have four elected members and there will be six members elected in Kenmare.

In Killarney there will be 7 elected members and there will be 6 in Listowel.