Evening Sports Update


Kerry’s Niamh O’Sullivan has finished 4th in the 10k Masters at the World Championships in Spain.

This years annual 200KM non stop endurance race -The Kerry Way Ultra Marathon, saw over 70 athletes depart Killarney,from 14 Countries, enduring heavy downpours during nightfall, and glorious evening rainbows along the daunting 40 hour, non stop Ultra Marathon. The Race traverses the MacGillycuddy’s Reeks and Iveragh Peninsula, stretching along The Wild Atlantic Way, along ancient trails, old roads and coastal cliffs. It is Ireland’s longest distance trail.

The Marathon was won by Gavin Byrne. Killarney native Sean Clifford, who led for much of the way, came second in a remarkable close finish of just a 3 minute difference. Another Killarney Native Joe O’Leary was joint third with Stephen Davis. Claire Morrissey won the Ladies title.

The second race known as The Kerry WayLite Marathon 50Km race departing from Sneem and continues along the Kerry Way Route, taking in Templenoe, Kenmare, the ‘Old Kenmare Road’, through Killarney National Park returning to Killarney. The race was won by Barry Drennan. First Lady was Sarah Enright.

1. Gavin Byrne: 26:38:18
2. Sean Clifford: 26:41:38
3. Stephen Davis & Joe O’Leary: 28:57:04

1. Claire Morrissey: 37:55:20

The Kerry Way UltraLite 50KM
1. Barry Drennan: 5:51:16
2. Barry Murray: 5:52:43
3: Cyril Stack: 6:06:41

1. Sarah Enright: 6:21:49
2. Sarah Brady: 6:29:53
3: Joanna Edwards: 6:54:28


Cork have won the All-Ireland senior camogie Championship for the second year in a row.

In a nip and tuck contest in Croke Park, the rebel county emerged as 1 point winners against Kilkenny.

The game was level at 0-13 points apiece heading as the game edged towards the hour mark.

Orla Cotter was able to hold her compsure to nail over the winning point in injury time, as Cork ran out 0-14 to 0-13 winners and claim their 28th O’Duffy Cup.

Cork’s intermediate side claimed silverware in the preceeding game – beating Down by 1-13 to 0-9.


Ronan Curtis has earned a call up to the Republic of Ireland senior squad for Tuesdays Friendly with Poland

Curtis has impressed for Noel King’s under 21 side but is unavailable for their qualifier against Germany in Tallaght Stadium this Tuesday due to suspension.

The 22 year old has enjoyed a good start to the season with Portsmouth, scoring five goals in six games in League One.


Serena Williams has been fined just over 13 thousand pounds following her controversial outbursts at the US Open tennis final.

The former world number one was punished for 3 code violations during the straight sets defeat to Japan’s Naomi Osaka in New York.

Williams accused the umpire of sexism in docking her a game after being penalised for receiving coaching, racquet abuse and calling the official a liar and a thief.


Irish raider Riven Light, winner of the BMW Mile at the Galway Festival in July, trailed home in rear as last year’s winner London Town destroyed his rivals in the Grade 1 Keeneland Korea Cup in Seoul, Korea.

Willie Mullins booked local jockey Jo Sung Gon to ride Riven Light in the race worth over €700,000 but the pair, after racing in mid division, faded from halfway to come home last of the 14 starters behind the runaway odds-on winning favourite.

London Town, trained by Kazuya Makita and ridden by Yasunari Iwata, broke the track record he set when winning the same race last year, this time coming home 15 lengths clear of his nearest rival.


The Irish Under 16 Show Jumping team created history this morning as they were crowned World Champions in Belgium

The team of Ella Quigley, Charlotte Houston, Katie Power, and Seamus Hughes-Kennedy beat Belgium in a jump-off after finishing on a zero score at the FEI Youth Nations Cup World Finals.


At the World Rowing Championships in Bulgaria.

Gary and Paul O’ Donovan have qualified directly for the quarter finals of the Lightweight Men’s Double Sculls.

The Skibereen duo were first in their heat finishing in a time of 06 minutes 15.790 seconds.


Munster Mid-Amateur Open Championship
At Lee Valley Golf Club

WINNER Gary O’Flaherty (Cork) 217
RUNNER UP Alan Thomas (Dungarvan) 218
THIRD David O’Donovan (Muskerry) (back 36) 219
FOURTH Kieran O’Donoghue (Douglas) 219
FIFTH Eoghan Long (Monkstown) (back36) 220
BEST GROSS R 3 Geoff Lenehan (Portmarnock)(back 6) 71
BEST NETT Karl Borneman (Douglas) 222
SECOND NETT John O’Brien (Castlemartyr) 224

217 G O’Flaherty (Cork), 73, 74, 70
218 A Thomas (Dungarvan), 76, 73, 69
219 D O’Donovan (Muskerry), 73, 76, 70; K O’Donoghue (Douglas ), 72, 72, 75
220 E Long (Monkstown), 75, 76, 69; G Lenehan (Portmarnock), 72, 77, 71
222 K Bornemann (Douglas), 75, 76, 71
224 G Dunne (Co. Louth), 76, 75, 73; J O’Brien (Castlemartyr), 71, 77, 76
225 J O’Neill (Lee Valley), 75, 74, 76
226 P Murray (Clontarf), 79, 75, 72; M Ford (Cork), 75, 72, 79; A Condren (Greystones), 73, 75, 78
227 P Connolly (Killeen Castle), 70, 76, 81
228 J Waldron (Muskerry), 78, 75, 75; P Flynn (Tramore), 78, 74, 76; R Connolly (Grange), 73, 81, 74
229 C Ryan (Killeen Castle), 80, 76, 73; S Miskelly (Knock), 75, 80, 74
230 D O’Donoghue (Bandon), 77, 75, 78
158 P Fitzpatrick (Kanturk), 77, 81
231 J Kehoe (Limerick), 72, 83, 76
233 B Timlin (Galway), 73, 82, 78
234 P Power (Lee Valley), 79, 79, 76
237 C O’Donnell (Fota Island), 82, 79, 76
239 J O’Sullivan (Fota Island), 78, 81, 80
240 D Coughlan (Castleknock), 81, 79, 80
242 A Considine (Lahinch), 80, 81, 81
244 R Kennedy (Monkstown), 77, 86, 81
RTD K Collins (Fermoy), 81, 81; N Duggan (Dromoland), 80, 83

MC R Hurley (Fermoy), 83, 81; B Loftus (Lahinch), 80, 84; B Lenihan (Newcastle West), 86, 79; K O’Connell (Cork), 85, 80; D Smith (Malahide), 81, 86; B Dore (Newcastle West), 86, 83; D O’Sullivan (Dooks), 85, 84; D Ryan (Lee Valley), 83, 86; B Power (Goldcoast), 82, 87; R Williams (Naas), 87, 88; C Sheehy (Glasson), 86, 89
NR L Halpin Jnr (Shannon)
RTD P Roche (Palmerstown Hse Est)
NR P O’Connor (Malahide); M Collins (Killeen Castle); J Kiely (Slievenamon)
RTD I O’Flynn (Cork )
NR C O’Donoghue (Castletroy); D McCarthy (Bandon)
RTD I Spillane (Killarney)
NR S Kenneally (Kinsale); B Attridge (Mallow); L Connolly (Wexford)
RTD K Crowley (Fota Island)
NR L Power (Palmerstown Hse Est); S Kelly (Ballinasloe); D O’Driscoll (Ballybunion)
RTD K Hurley (Bandon); S O’Brien (Fota Island)
NR S Morris (Limerick); M Coleman (Limerick)
RTD G Kelly (Mallow)