East Kerry Minor Football Championship Division 4 Final Review

Spa 4-6 Fossa 3-10

Spa and Fossa gave a great display of football in Fitzgerald Stadium on a wet and cold Saturday afternoon with Fossa the eventual winners of a highly entertaining final.

Spa were first on the scoreboard with a great score from Oisin Walsh. Fossa replied with two points from the Kerry minor, Emmett O’Shea and Killian Buckley. Spa’s centre back Connie Cremin Mulrey started and finished a great movement through the centre, assisted by Cian Murphy to register Spa’s first goal. Fossa replied with the accurate full forward Emmett O Shea notching over a point and goal after making the touch from a high ball on the thirteen meter line to lead by three points in the 16th minute . However, Spa responded with a point from the impressive Oisín Walsh and Cian Murphy. Fossa’s Harry Kelly added another point which would by their last score of the first half. Ryan Kelliher and Oisín Walsh added two more points to level the game at 1-5 apiece. The remaining ten minutes of the first half belonged to Spa. However, Fossa scored another point from free off the boot of Emmet O Shea. Spa played very skilful and accurate football registering two more goals to end the first half leading 3-05 to 1-6.

It took eight minutes for the opening score in the second half. Spa extended their lead with a great goal from the sub Roirí O Connor who was on the end of a great pass from Ryan Kelliher. With a never say die attitude Fossa responded with a goal from a 21 yard free that hit the right side of the goal. That was the turning point for Fossa, and with lady luck on their side, scored another three points from Emmett O’Shea (2) and Darren Cronin. Spa’s supersub Roiri O’Connor replied with a point and only a goal separated the sides. Fossa equalized with another from Emmet O Shea. The remaining five minutes gave Spa a chance to take the lead but were very unlucky and the top scorer of the day Emmet O Shea scored the winning point for his club to take the title on the day.

Spa: Ollie Cremin Mulrey , Matt McAuliffe, Liam Spillane, Conor Brosnan, Diarmuid Cahill, Connie Cremin Mulrey , Keith Myers, Michael Kearney, Ryan Kelliher, Thomas Cronin, Rían O’Neill, Alan O’Sullivan, Oisín Walsh, Michael Horgan, Cian Murphy. Subs; Roirí O’Connor, Sean Hickey, Calum Neher (inj).

Fossa: Keelan O’Brien, Joe Cahillane, Padraig Talbot, Cian Doyle, Harry Kelly, Ruairi Doyle, Rian Colleran, Richard Wallace, Colm Talbot, Jack Clifford, Killian Buckley, William O’Brien, Darren Cronin, Emmett O’Shea, Harry Buckley.
Referee: Tom Moriarty (Legion)