Dingle and Fenit port athorities to AGM ‘s tonight

Members of the two port authorities in the county meet tonight to hold their AGM’s. A number of new members have been appointed to both Dingle and Fenit harbour boards for a five year term. The meetings take place against the backdrop of unrest among Dingle fishermen over proposed increases in harbour charges. The single biggest job facing the new Dingle Harbour Board is agreeing on harbour charges. Dingle fishermen have written to The Department of the Marine calling for the resignation of the entire board over what they claim is a proposed 400 per cent increase.The schedule of charges has this week been sent to The Minister for approval and a period of public consultation will take place before they come back before the board. Four of the 9 on the Dingle authority have been appointed by Kerry County Council, Seamus Cosai Fitzgerald, Brendain Mac Gearrailt, Dr Finbarr O Shea from Dingle and Timothy O Sullivan from Beaufort. The remaining five are appointed by The Minister. The three ministerial nominees to Fenit Harbour Board are Michael Moriarty, Jim Browne and Cllr Norma Foley.