Cycling’s Munster Racing Season To Open This Weekend With Lacey Cup

The 2018 Lacey Cup will be held on Sunday.

The event, hosted by Tralee Manor West Bicycle Club, is the grand opener to the Munster racing season.

The race always draws a large field of riders, with over 200 competing last year. Some of the top Irish riders will be in action on the day, all intent on taking home the coveted Lacey Cup.

This year in accordance with new rulings from Cycling Ireland, there will be a separate race for the A4 category, which will start after the main A1/A2/A3 race.

The course is the usual challenging 75 Km circuit of which always proves to be a very tough race and with past winners such as Sean Hahessy (2017), Daragh O’Mahoney (2016), Seán Mc Kenna (’15), Damian Shaw (’14), Seán Lacey (‘09,’10,’11,’12,’13) Martin O Loughlin (’07,’08), Matt Slattery (’03).

The race will have a neutralised start from Manor West Hotel, sponsors of the Tralee Manor West Bicycle Club and will be the main venue and headquarters for the race. Departure from the hotel will be at 12:15pm sharp. Racing will officially commence from George Poff’s Garage on the Dingle road at 12.30 and will pass through Blennerville (12.35), Camp (13.00), Upper Camp, Gleann na nGealt (13.10), Annascaul (13.25), Inch (13.30), Boolteens (13.50), Castlemaine (13.55), Sliabh Mish (14.05) and finishing at 14.15 at 60kph signs at Skehanagh Cross on the Killorglin road in Tralee. Diversions will be in place for safety between Quills Cross and the Killorglin Road Roundabout.

The main race is run on a handicap basis consisting of 3 groups with the first group of Category A3 riders, followed by the A2’s, and finally the group of elite A1 Category riders.

The A4 race will start approximately 5 mins after the A1 riders are underway. This will follow the same route.

The first prime of the race is Gleann na nGealt will be hotly contested between the A3 riders for the Jackie O’Connor Memorial Trophy.

As in previous years the A1 and A2 groups behind will have merged and will have the job of catching the race leaders as they head towards Inch.

After Castlemaine the riders head for the 2nd Prime, The Teddy Griffin Memorial Trophy, the final climb of Sliabh Mish Mountain where the race has usually broken up into a small group of elite A1 and A2 riders, with the expected winner coming from these groups.

This year amongst the pre-race favourites are Sean Hahessy last years impressive winner along with last years runner up Paul Kennedy (Newcastle West CC). The ever present stalwart of Irish racing Seán Lacey already has an astounding 5 wins to his name and could challenge for a 6th win.
The main challenge from the host Club will be led by Cathal Moynihan and Cormac Daly.
It all promises to be an exciting days racing with plenty of exciting action along the route to keep spectators entertained.

Sign on will be open from 10.00am to 11.30am sharp at the Manor West Hotel, who will provide parking and facilities for the presentations following the race.

Pre Registration available for A4’s on Cycling Ireland.

For further information contact Matt Lacey 0872258159 or Stephen Griffin 0876433225
or log onto the club website at
Email us at: [email protected]