County League Division 2 – Round Up

Brosna 1-15 Glenflesk 2-8

Tim Moynihan has this report for us

Kenmare Shamrocks : 1-13 Ardfert: 1-10

Ballymac 0 – 19 Dr. Crokes B 1 – 08

A sun-drenched evening in Ballymac ended in a well-deserved 8 point victory for the home side over Dr Crokes B. Ballymac started well with two quick points on the board before Crokes levelled it up. The home team would then use their established platform at midfield to open up a three point gap but wasteful shots on goal left Crokes in the game. Allied to some smart kickouts and long range points with the breeze the Killarney men quickly rallied and a cooly dispatched penalty left them one point up at the break. Upon the restart both teams traded points but a goal chance spurned by Crokes would prove costly. Ballymac took control around midfield and reeled off 8 unanswered points to sway the game their way. Crokes would then have one more goal chance denied which would end any hope of a comeback. The final score 0-19 to 1-8 to the Ballymac men

Annascaul 2-08 Piarsaig na Dromoda 1-10

Annascaul and Piarsaigh na Dromada met in Annascaul, in glorious conditions, in Round 3 of the Senior Football League. From start to finish, this game was played at a fast, intense pace. The South Kerry men were the first to make their mark on the scoreboard, with a point from Shane O Conchuir. Annascaul’s first goal came half way through the first half, from James Crean. Their second came a few moments later from Midfielder Eamonn Hickson. Not long after this, the visitors scored their only goal of the night, from Cristoir O Fearcheallaigh, from the penalty spot. The home side led by two points at the break, 2-04 to 1-05.

The second half was played with the same competitiveness and fast pace as the first. Dromid quickly closed the gap and the sides were level on three occasions during the second half. For both sides, the main scorers were their free takers, Cristoir O Fearcheallaigh scoring 1-06 and Jason Hickson putting over 7 points. It was Hickson who scored the winning point for the home side, a free kick in the dying seconds of the game. Annascaul ended up winning by the smallest margin, 2-08 to 1-10.

John Mitchels 1 – 13 Beaufort 1 – 08

John Mitchels were back in action on Saturday night in Ballyseedy where they faced a wounded Beaufort team who were seeking to turn around their previous championship game a few weeks ago. Played in ideal conditions before a small crowd both teams were nervy as this was an extremely important game. After a slow start Mitchel’s began to take control with a free from Michael Kelleher, followed by points from James Duggan and Alan O Donoghue. The home defence held strong, and they went up by 6 points to 2 with Shane O Connor, Stephen O Mahoney adding a brace before Michael Kelleher added his second. Beaufort though weren’t there for a day out and Padraig O Sullivan found his form to leave the half time Mitchel’s 6 points Beaufort 4 points with Mitchel’s defending superbly through Jonathan O Halloran, Michael Walsh and Thomas Kearns.

The second half was a very cagey affair with both teams desperate to win this crucial fixture. Alan O Donoghue tormented the Beaufort defence and added 2 excellent fisted points to push Mitchel’s 4 clear. Beaufort were not giving up and a run of Padraig O Sullivan points kept them in touch, but a point from Shane O Connor pushed Mitchels clear again before Beaufort picked up a bad bounce and hit for a goal from Ronan Ferris. Mitchel’s however remained calm, with their defence from Goalkeeper out not willing to concede, and a Bryan Costello point pushed them ahead entering the last 5 minutes. In a tight finale 2 outstanding frees from Niall Sheehy left the home team 13 points to 1-8 up with the game in the balance. Mitchel’s produced probably the move of the match with minor Padraig White defying his youth to give a sublime pass to Shane O Connor who converted an excellent move to goal for Mitchel’s. This sealed a very important victory for Mitchel’s with a final score 1-13 to Beaufort 1-8. Scorers Shane O Connor 1- 2, Alan O Donoghue 0-3, Niall Sheehy0-2, James Duggan 0-2, Michael Kelleher 0-2. Bryan Costello 0-1, Stephen O Mahoney 0-1.