County Football League Division 5

Division 5 Group A
Churchill 6-15; Knocknagoshel 1-07
This was a one-sided affair from start to finish as Churchill had too much for the home team throughout. They had a solid platform at midfield where Mikey Brennan excelled and with forwards of the calibre of Ivan Parker inside they were able to profit on the scoreboard. By half time they led 3-8 to 0-1 with the goals coming from Ian Parker(2) and J.J. Prior. Knocknagoshel’s only score came from a Killian O’Connor free. In the second half the home side offered better resistance with Conor Sheehan, Michael Walsh and the lively John Walsh coming more into the game. John Walsh pilfered their goal when he took a quick free and blasted it straight to the net. J.J Prior and Ivan Parker both scored goals and their other goal came from Chris Hurley. A feature of the game was the accuracy of Churchill goalkeeper Eoin O’Brien from dead balls slotting over two 45’s one in either half.

Kerins O’Rahilly’s 0-14 Asdee 2-08 (draw)
The Tralee side gained their first points in this division when sharing the spoils with Asdee in an entertaining game played in Strand Road on Sunday. They were fast out of the blocks and had two points from play on the board from Shane McElligott and Gearóid Savage before Asdee opened the scoring on 7 minutes with a point of their own from play. It was nip and tuck from here for the remainder of the half as both teams traded scores with Gearóid Savage particularly impressive notching a further 4 points along with a fine point from John C O’Connor, operating from midfield. Asdee were competitive throughout and led at the break by two points, 1-06 to 0-07. Their goal coming from Eoin Tydings.
Asdee were first to score in the second half but points from Donagh O’Brien, Gearóid again and centre back, Jason O’Leay had the teams on level terms with 10 mins remaining. Asdee then broke through for a goal from Mike Breen but good play from Ryan Carroll, Darragh McEllligott, Shane McElligott saw Kerins O’Rahillys apply pressure to pick off scores and they equalised late in the game with a point from John C O Connor. Asdee’s remaining scorers were Darragh Keane, 4pts, Paul O Carroll, 2pts, Conor Keane and Mike Breen 1pt each.

Austin Stacks B 0-9 Scartaglen 2-13
Scartaglin made it four wins out of four with this visit to Connolly Park on Sunday afternoon (13th May). A tentative start saw the sides level with a point a piece after eight minutes. The first indication that this game was not going to go the way of the home side came a minute later when the visitors took full advantage of a defensive error by the home side and Niall Casey netted to give Scart the lead for the first time – a lead they never relinquished thereafter. Stacks did recover somewhat – adding three more points in the next ten minutes to one for Scart. But four points in quick succession by the visitors to one for the Rock left them ahead by four at the break (1-6 to 0-5).
Scartaglin did slightly better in the second adding a further 1-7 to just four for Stacks. Their second half goal came in the 37th minute from a well-taken penalty by Shay Walsh.
The win leaves Scart on top of the League table, along with Churchill, both with full points from their four games.
Scorers: Austin Stacks: Alan Duggan (0-4 – 3 frees), Theo Diggin (0-2), Darragh Scanlon, William Kirby and Seamus Bastible (0-1 each). Scartaglin: Shay Walsh (1-3 – penalty goal, 2 frees), Niall Casey (1-0), Eddie Horan and Mike Coakley (0-3 each), and Brendan Rahilly, Tom Folde, Daniel Murphy and Conor Cremins (0-1 each).

Kilgarvan 1-13 Valentia 0-09
Kilgarvan took on Valentia in round 4 of the County League. Valentia’s no 15 Andy Quigley opened the scoring with a point. Kilgarvan’s Daniel Casey found the back of the net to score the only goal of the match. It was a tight first half with the teams going in with only 1 point between them at half time, the score was 1-5 to 0-07.
Valentia again opened the scoring with a point but Kilgarvan’s great team work once again saw them add 6 points from Donal O Sullivan, Daniel Casey, Gearoid Fennessy John Mark Foley and Connie Cremin in a 10 min spell before Valentia got their last score of the game. Further points from Patrick O Shea and Donal O Sullivan added to Kilgarvan’s scoreline and see them come out as worthy winners . Valentia who were very much under-strength had Paul O Connor as the outstanding player on the field with Andy Quigley and Paul O Connor hitting 4pts each and Brendan Falvey 1pt.

Division 5 Group B – Saturday
Ballyduff 2-15 Sneem/Derrynane 0-7
Sneem Derrynane made the long trip to Ballyduff on Saturday evening last with only 14 player’s for duty and suffered a heavy defeat at the hands of the locals. Played at thirteen aside, exchanges were even enough early on but Ballyduff led by six points at the break with the goal coming from Chris White just before half time to leave Ballyduff leading 1-08 to 0-05. On the resumption, Ballyduff pulled away and had a string of points and a goal from Padraig Slattery, ably assisted by Anthony O’Carroll to leave them 2-15 to 0-07 ahead when ref Denis O’Sullivan blew the final whistle. Sneem/Derrynane scores came from Joe Corridon (3), Rory Galvin (2) and Denis O’Sullivan( 2). This win puts Ballyduff joint top of the table.

Duagh 4-16 Moyvane 0-7

Rathmore 6-14 Dingle 1-13
Rathmore were off to a good start in this encounter with 3 points in the first 5 minutes. Rathmore struck their first goal after nine minutes to put them ahead 1.03 to no score. Dingle scored their first point after 10 minutes only for Rathmore to reply almost immediately with their second goal. Rathmore’s third goal came 5 minutes later leaving it 3.04 to 0.02 after 15 minutes. However it was another 10 minutes before Rathmore registered another score during which time Dingle scored 6 points. Rathmore’s fourth goal came shortly before half time giving them a 4.06 to 0.09 at half time.
Rathmore continued their impressive form in the second half and put this game beyond comeback with a number of points in the first 10 minutes. Goal number 5 came before the middle of the second half with the sixth coming a few minutes later. Credit to the Dingle team who battled to the very end but on the day Rathmore were worth the win final score Rathmore 6.16 Dingle 1.14. Best for Rathmore Michael A Kelleher, Tadhg Mahony, Conor O Sullivan, Padraig Cronin, Tadhg Moynihan and Micheal Mahony. For Dingle Michael Boland, Mark Evans, Dan Ryan, Brian O Connell, Luke O Connell, Gavin Curran and David O Connor. Rathmores goalscorers were; Michael Anthony Kelliher, (2), Donal Moynihan, Mark T Reen, Stephen Lehane and Tadhg Mahony.