Buckley eliminated as count nine begins in count afresh

    Tim Buckley has been eliminated as we enter count 9 in the Listowel Municipal District count afresh. Cllr Tim Buckley John Brassil, Robert Beasley and Aoife Thornton have all been elected so far in the seven seat constituency. The count afresh is taking place following a legal challenge taken by Independent candidate Dan Kiely who narrowly missed out on a seat in 2014. Count eight involved the distribution of Aoife Thornton’s surplus of 57 votes. That surplus had been 58 votes but a vote for Tim Buckley was discovered in the pile. Agents agreed to add this to Buckley’s tally. This is the second stray vote of Tim Buckley’s to be discovered. The full result of count of eight is as follows: Dianne Nolan SF – 1490 (+10 ) Jimmy Moloney FF – 1194 (+7) Liam Purtill FG – 1142 (+7) Dan Kiely IND- 1138 (+3 ) Michael O’Gorman IND – 1079 (+5) Mike Kennelly FG – 998 (+13 ) Pat Leahy LAB – 970 (+ 6) Tim Buckley FG – 928 (+5 – 5 transfers plus his one vote which was discovered)   After count eight Dan Kiely is 4 votes down on where he was at this stage in 2014 Jimmy Moloney is down 4 and Mike Kennelly is  down 2. In the final shake up in 2014 – just five votes separated these candidates with Kiely losing out by two votes for the final seat. Returning Officer Charlie O’Sullivan has now eliminated Tim Buckley and his 928 votes are being distributed among the candidates who remain. The quota stands at 1,843 (down 2 on 2014)