Arthur Spring loses seat

Labour’s Arthur Spring has lost his Dail seat. Deputy Arthur Spring The one term TD was just eliminated in the Kerry count at the Killarney Sports and Leisure Centre. Count ten was the distribution of Fianna Fail’s Norma Moriarty’s vote of 5,392. Her running mate Cllr John Brassil has seen his vote boosted as a result in his first bid to become a TD for Kerry. Still three seats to play for with four contenders. Michael and Danny Healy-Rae claimed the first two seats; making history in the process. They are on a tour of north Kerry in a cavalcade of up to 200 cars. The quota is 13,213. The turnout in the new five seat constituency was 70.7 % After count ten – here is how the field stands…. 1. Brendan Griffin FG– 12,545 (+1,149) 2. Martin Ferris SF – 12,184 (+462) 3. John Brassil FF – 11,955 (+2,460) 4. Jimmy Deenihan FG– 7849 (+219) 5. Arthur Spring LAB- 6,139 (+262) Returning Officer Padraig Burke has now announced he will eliminate Arthur Spring of Labour and distribute his votes for count 11 6,139 votes are to be distributed.