« BackHealy-Rae agreement not upheld as Cronin elected Killarney Cathaoirleach

Maura Healy-Rae lost out on the chain of office for the Killarney Municipal District.

Image courtesy of Domnick Walsh www.dwalshphoto.ie

This is despite an expectation that she would become Cathaoirleach following a deal between her father and other councillors when he was a county councillor.

Danny Healy-Rae was to have become Cathaoirleach as a result of this pact but after he was elected to the Dáil in February, his daughter Maura was co-opted on to his seat.

Kerry has five new Cathaoirligh.


An agreement reached after the 2014 local elections between Danny Healy-Rae – the then Cllr and now TD – would have seen him take the role of Killarney MD Cathaoirleach this year.

However he was elected to the Dáil in February and his daughter Maura was co-opted to his council seat.

Today, Independent Cllr Donal Grady proposed Maura Healy-Rae for Killarney MD Cathaoirleach, however long-standing Independent Cllr Brendan Cronin was also proposed and when it came to a vote he won 6-2.

Cllr Maura Healy-Rae says she’s disappointed councillors didn’t keep their word.

However Fianna Fáil Cllr Niall Kelleher, who’s secretary for Fianna Fáil on  Kerry County Council, said a deal was made after the 2014 elections with Danny Healy-Rae personally, and that Maura didn’t approach members about creating a new deal after her co-option.

Cllr Brendan Cronin says he wasn’t part of any previous deal and was approached about taking on the role.
Also today, Labour’s Terry O’Brien is Tralee’s new Mayor – it’s the only MD in the county which takes that title instead of Cathaoirleach. Fianna Fáil’s Norma Foley is the Tralee Deputy Mayor.

In the Listowel MD, Fine Gael’s Aoife Thornton is the new Cathaoirleach; her party colleague Mike Kennelly is the Listowel Leas Cathaoirleach.

In South and West Kerry, 25 year old Fianna Fáil Cllr John Francis Flynn is the new Cathaoirleach. Outgoing Cathaoirleach, Fine Gael’s Patrick Connor Scarteen is now the Leas Cathaoirleach.

Fianna Fáil’s Michael O’Shea was elected the new Cathaoirleach of County Kerry, and Fine Gael Cllr Liam Purtill was elected Leas Cathaoirleach.