« BackFive Kerry towns shortlisted among Ireland’s Top 15 Tourism Towns

Five Kerry towns have been shortlisted in the Top 15 Tourism Towns.

Tralee, Killarney, Sneem, Kenmare and Portmagee have all made the shortlist which was announced today by Minister for State for Tourism and Sport, Michael Ring.


The competition seeks to recognise Irish towns and villages that go the extra mile to enhance their appeal to tourists.

The 15 towns’s shortlisted for the awards will now be subject to a series of unannounced inspections.

Kerry makes up a third of the nominated contenders; Kilkenny, Waterford, Clare, Limerick, Cork, Mayo and Leitrim have also made the list.

The awards, operated by Fáilte Ireland, focus on sense of place, local involvement and what the town has to offer visitors.

TOP 15 TOURISM TOWNS 2015: Kilkenny; Lismore, Waterford; Killarney, Kerry; Clonakilty, Cork; Belmullet, Mayo; Ardmore, Waterford; Tralee, Kerry; Adare, Limerick; Sneem, Kerry, Carrick on Shannon; Leitrim; Kenmare, Kerry; Portmagee, Kerry; Cobh, Cork; Youghal, Cork; Mountshannon, Clare.