« BackFive Cathaoirligh elected in Kerry today

new Kerry County Council chamber2

Independent Cllr Brendan Cronin took the title today of Killarney MD Cathaoirleach; and Fianna Fáil Cllr Niall Kelleher is Leas Cathaoirleach.

Cllr Cronin says Brexit is a major concern.


Fianna Fáil’s Michael O’Shea was today elected the new Cathaoirleach of Kerry County Council, and Fine Gael Cllr Liam Purtill is Leas Cathaoirleach.

Cllr Michael O’Shea has a number of priorities.


Labour’s Terry O’Brien is Tralee’s new Mayor – it’s the only MD in the county which takes that title instead of Cathaoirleach; Fianna Fáil’s Norma Foley is the Tralee Deputy Mayor.

Cllr Terry O’Brien says there are a number of projects he wants to progress this year.


In the Listowel MD, Fine Gael’s Aoife Thornton is the new Cathaoirleach; her party colleague Mike Kennelly is the Listowel Leas Cathaoirleach.

Cllr Thornton says roads are one of her main priorities.


In South and West Kerry, 25-year-old Fianna Fáil Cllr John Francis Flynn is the new Cathaoirleach.

Outgoing Cathaoirleach, Fine Gael’s Patrick Connor Scarteen is now the Leas Cathaoirleach.

Cllr Flynn says the South Kerry greenway is his priority.