« BackAlmost €940,000 in payments made to Kerry councillors

Almost 940,000 euro in payments were made to sitting and former councillors in Kerry for 2015.

That’s according to figures supplied by Kerry County Council.

Payments to Councillors

Click image to enlarge

Payments totalling €938,780.49 were made to both sitting and former councillors in Kerry for the period from January 1st to December 31st last year.

Some of the payments are taxable, or partially taxable but the councillors also have an annual allowance which is non-taxable; this ranges from 5 to 9 thousand euro.

Almost €67,000 was paid to councillors for attending conferences and training events

Three councillors were allocated over €40,000 in payments; Cllr Pat McCarthy (€43,404.13), former Cllr and now TD John Brassil (€41,969.06) and Cllr Jim Finucane (€40,058.25).

These payments include allowances for holding the position of Cathaoirleach or Leas Cathaoirleach on the council.

Five councillors received payment of 30 to 40 thousand euro and the remaining twenty-five got between 20 and 30 thousand euro.

The lowest payment was made to Cllr Sam Locke at €21,888.14.

Payments were also made to two former Listowel Town Councillors as they have now turned 50 and qualify.

A payment of €12,087.44 was made to Jacqueline Barrett and €3,417.36 was given to Louis O’Connell.