Morning Sports Update


Jose Mourinho hopes the League Cup is the first of many major trophies as Manchester United manager.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic scored an 87th minute winner in a 3-2 victory over Southampton in the final at Wembley.

Mourinho doesn’t want the honours to stop there

Leicester tonight play their first match since sacking their Premier League-winning manager Claudio Ranieri.

Craig Shakespeare’s in temporary charge for their home game with Liverpool.

The champions dropped into the relegation zone for the first time this season following Saturday’s results.

Shakespeare has denied claims Ranieri lost the support of the dressing room – and is sure the players care about their current situation

Kick-off is at 8.


Jockey Barry Geraghty has been ruled out of next month’s Cheltenham Festival.

Geraghty, twice former top jockey at the Festival, won’t have recovered from injury in time.

Mike Vince reports


Rickie Fowler’s won the Honda Classic.

He closed on 12 under after a 71, giving him a 4 shot victory over Gary Woodland and Morgan Hoffman.

Graeme McDowell tied for 14th on minus 4 following his 69.


Two Kerry teams were involved in the Munster Inter County series with the Grade C team involved in a straight shoot out with Cork in Dromtariffe, County Cork and the Grade E team were involved in a 4 County battle in Waterford.

In Dromtariffe it was so near, and yet so far away for the Kingdom. What a battle they had with the Rebels. Cork went 3-1 up but Kerry fought back to level at 3 games each and then they went 4-3 up. Cork again levelled at 4 each and it was now all down to that vital 3rd mixed left to play but despite a noble effort by the Kerry pairing it proved to be Cork’s day as they just edged home by 5-4.

The Kerry team as follows; Edel Broderick, Miriam Rohan,Maeve Twomey, Sinead Galvin, Niamh O’Flaherty, Tom Bourke, James O’Flaherty, Eric Nelligan, Fergal Hannon.

The Grade E competition was played in Waterford with 4 Counties participating, namely, Waterford, Tipperary, Cork and Kerry and what an extraordinary story revolved around the climax of this competition. Kerry commenced with a 5-4 victory over Cork whilst Tipperary overcame Waterford by 6-3; Round 2 was not a happy occasion for the Kerry camp as they never hit their true form and fell to Waterford by 6-3 whilst Tipperary defeated Cork by 6-3. It was now all to play for in the third and final round and the Kingdom did raise their game after that Waterford defeat and overcame Tipperary by 5-4. In the mean time the Decies had the biggest win of the day when they defeated Cork by 7-2 so the overall result saw Tipperary and Waterford level on 16 points; Kerry were on 13 points with Cork on 9 points. By virtue of their first round win over the home County, Tipperary were declared winners but Kerry had the unusual distinction of winning two out of their 3 games, they deeated the eventual champions, Tipperary and yet only finished in 3rd place. The Kerry panel was Brid Murphy, Ruth Concannon, Sorcha Fitzgerald, Mairead O’Regan, Helen Browwne, Donie Enright, Jonathan Keane,Donnacha Moloney, Timmy Noonan, Aidan McCarthy. Joint managers; Marion O’Neill and Catherine Hanrahan.

Ballyheigue tournament results:
Division 5 final – Donnchadh Foley [Annascaul] and Karen Lawlor [Listowel] defeated Niall Hanlon [Causeway] and Eibhlis Brosnan [Kingdom, Castleisland]
Division 5 Plate – Brendan Carroll [Causeway] and Lilian Holmes [Ballyheigue] defeated Kyle Reidy [Ballyheigue] and Deirdre McAuliffe [Listowel]
Division 4 Final – John McDonnell [Ballyheigue] and Marie O Connor [Killarney] defeated Tom Bradley [Kingdom] and Paula O Sullivan [Ballyheigue].
Division 4 Plate – James O Mahony [Causeway] and Claire Cahill [Kingdom] defeated Mike Keane [Moyvane] and Sara Leahy [Causeway].
Division 3 Final – Jebin John [Kingdom] and Amanda Carmody [Moyvane] defeated Tim Griffin [Ballyheigue] and Renee Lenihan [Kingdom].


Ireland’s Mark Downey and Felix English have rounded off the final event in the Tissot UCI Track Cycling World Cup in La with a gold medal win in the Madison. The Madison is a new event on the Olympic calendar for Tokyo and the Irish team have made clear their intentions with another dominant performance putting them in first place ahead of Denmark and New Zealand, adding gold to the silver they won last week at the World Cup in Cali. In the Individual Pursuit Anna Turvey finished tenth with a time of 3.43.639 and Eoin Mullen finished 21st in the Keirin.