First TDs elected to 32nd Dáil

The first TDs have been elected to the 32nd Dáil. ballot-box Fine Gael have 2 seats, Fianna Fáil, Sinn Féin and the Independent Alliance have one each so far. First counts are coming in across the country as the re-election of the coalition is rejected by voters. While Galway East was the first constituency to declare a first count, it still awaits to elect a TD to the thirty-first Dáíl. Fine Gael’s Seán Barrett was automatically returned as Ceann Comhairle and was officially the first TD of the thirty-second Dáil. Shane Ross of the Independent Alliance has been returned as a TD following the second count in Dublin Rathdown. Fianna Fáil took its first seat with Seán Fleming elected in Laois. In Dublin mid West Justice mInister Frances Fitzgerald was pipped by Sinn Féin’s Eoin O’Broin to the poll topping position – but both are elected. But as the new TDs are elected, today will also see many casualties. Renua leader Lucinda Creighton will lose her seat in Dublin Bay South. Fine Gael deputy leader James Reilly is struggling to hold on in Dublin Fingal. Labour’s Alex White is gone in Dublin Rathdown, but it appears Tánaiste and party leader Joan Burton will make it in Dublin West. The day is Fianna Fáil’s with many poll toppers and all eyes now on whether they’ll be the largest party. Sinn féin are making gains too, as are the Independents.