Enda Kenny receives his seal of office as Taoiseach

Taoiseach Enda KennyEnda Kenny’s made history and become the first Fine Gael leader to be re-elected Taoiseach for consecutive terms. He won a Dáil vote by 59 to 49 after another day of drama about getting Independents to support him. Mr Kenny is putting the finishing touches to his Cabinet which he’ll announce in the Dáil in the next half an hour. It took 70 days and 4 attempts but At 21 minutes past 2 Enda Kenny was officially re-elected Taoiseach in a Dáil vote. It was shaky up until the end. During nearly two hours of Dáil speeches the Independent Alliance were missing from the chamber in crisis talks with Michael Noonan and Simon Coveney. In the end 5 of the group voted for Enda Kenny, Michael Fitzmaurice abstained. Independents Michael Lowry, Katherine Zappone, Denis Naughten and Michael harty also came on board. Mr Kenny says he’s aware of the task ahead to govern the country from a minority position. After travelling to the Aras to receive his seal of office Enda Kenny returned to Government Buildings to form his Cabinet. New faces will be in there – Shane Ross, Katherine Zappone, Denis Naughten – and some from teh Fine Gael ranks too – in face when Enda Kenny leads those Ministers into the Dáil at 5:30 it’ll be the largest number of Fine Gael members of a Cabinet ever.